Dinner?

President Obama just emailed me to invite me to dinner.

Well, ok.  Maybe not exactly.  But I did get an email.  The sender was “Barack Obama,” and the subject was simply “Dinner?”

I get emails from “Barack Obama” all of the time.  At some point, someone, somewhere decided I am a Democrat worthy of addition to our President’s email list…or at least the list for his campaign.  It was the subject of this email that made it feel a little different, because the subject “dinner?” is most unusual, when you consider that almost all of the other emails from “Barack” have had subjects like “grass roots campaigning,” or “fundraiser” or….well, you get the idea.  But today’s email had a subject I see, often, from real-life friends.  So, I opened it and I read it.  With all due respect to President Obama, I don’t always.  Turns out, it’s a contest.  Our President is holding a contest, and the prize is to have dinner with him.  And all I have to do to be entered into the contest is to give a donation to the campaign of at least $5.

At some point, someone is going to look at this and say it is tacky.  But not me.  I think it’s awesome.  This is no less than the 30th email I have received from the campaign in the last 6 months.  Every time I think about re-upping my donation, but I haven’t followed through with giving one additional penny.

Today is different.  The chance to have a bite with the President is worth $5.  For sure.  And while I hate to expand the pool of competition, I don’t think I have to worry too much about the two or three people that still subscribe to this blog.  So, here’s the link:

https://donate.barackobama.com/Dinner-with-Barack

Published in: on June 15, 2011 at 5:07 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://powerontheweb.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/dinner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

